We Almost Lost Detroit

image

The nice thing about visiting home is that you have an excuse to do a bunch of touristy things you haven’t done in ages, and rarely got around to when you lived there. Case in point: Belle Isle. I haven’t been out to the park since a friend’s wedding years ago.

image

image

And since Detroit is going through something of a renaissance, I got to visit some places that didn’t exist until after I moved away, like Gold Cash Gold, a converted pawn shop that’s now a farm-to-table restaurant with amazing food and charming decor.

image

image

(I also made an obligatory stop at Slow’s, because those are the rules and I need that mac and cheese.)

image

But the most poignant symbol of Detroit’s revival? New windows being installed in the iconic abandoned train station.

image

Leave a comment